Mahler Foundation is delighted to welcome you back to another edition of The Mahler Hour. This time we celebrate “The First”: a first prize winner, the First Symphony, the world’s first Mahler Society, and maybe even your first opportunity to perform Mahler!

The Mahler Hour
“The First”

Hosted by Morten Solvik

Program

  • First Prize: A talk with Finnegan Downie Dear, winner of the 2020 Mahler Conducting Competition in Bamberg.
  • First Mahler Society: International Gustav Mahler Society in Vienna, with Peter Revers.
  • First Symphony: Interview with filmmaker Jason Starr on his latest documentaries on Mahler’s First Symphony and Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen.
  • First Time?!: A chance for you to sing in a virtual performance of the finale of Mahler’s Second Symphony with the Self-Isolation Choir! – details will be unfolded by Mark Strachan, Founder and member of The Self-Isolation Choir.

Tuesday, September 1st, 2020 at:

  • 09:00 Mexico
  • 10:00 New York
  • 15: 00 London
  • 16:00 Vienna
  • 22:00 Shanghai

Check your local time here: t.ly/IpvA

#MahlerHour #MahlerFoundation #MahlerEffect

The recording of this meeting is now available on Mahler Foundation Facebook

Next meeting: Tuesday, October 6th, 2020.