دليل الاستماع - الحركة 3: المطهر. Allegretto moderato

النص الكامل

المسمى المطهر الحركة هي الأقصر من أي من الحركات السيمفونية البحتة لماهلر والتي تدوم أكثر من أربع دقائق بقليل ، محصورة بين حركتين كبيرتين ومعقدين من نوع scherzo ، هذه الحركة القصيرة غير المعقدة نسبيًا تبدو وكأنها مدفونة من قبلهم ، وموقعها كحركة مركزية يجعلها أقرب إلى الوسط حركة السيمفونية السابعة ، التي تشترك معها في بعض العناصر ، مثل بروز الموسيقى الشبيهة بالشيرزوندو ، والجو الخيالي ، والأساس الإيقاعي المتماوج الذي يذكر Das irdische Leben، مالر يجسد نفس الشعور بالقلق من اقتراب الموت ، الذي تعبر عنه أغنية Wunderhorn بوضوح ، يختلف مبتكرو النسخ أو الإدراكات العاشرة حول ما إذا كان Mahler قد سحب العنوان Purgatorio من هذه الحركة قبل وفاته. مهما كانت الحالة ، قد تكون الجودة الغريبة سريعة الزوال التي تسود الحركة ، والتي تتناسب مع تحفة Andante.
تحوم سحابة مظلمة فوق الفكرة الرئيسية ، والتي تشق طريقها بقلق حول الأوتار كما لو كانت تنسج شبكة لإيقاع ضحية محتملة. إن الانفجارات الثاقبة التي تكسر التدفق المنتظم الثابت لها تأثير تقشعر لها الأبدان على الغلاف الجوي ، كما لو كانت تنذر بكارثة. في النهاية ، يرتفع كل شيء في نفخة من الدخان ، مما يعطي الانطباع بأن الحركة بأكملها ربما لم تكن سوى خيال ساحر. يكمن شيطان ماهلر الداخلي وراء كل عبارات مثل شبح شبحي ، ينتظر بصبر فرصته لتدمير الروح البشرية ، كما هو الحال في الحركة الشيطانية التالية. بهذا المعنى ، فإن المطهر بمثابة معاينة للحركتين الأخيرتين.

يخمن هنري لويس دي لا جرانج أن ماهلر بدأ العمل على الحركات الثلاث الأخيرة من العاشرة بعد اكتشاف علاقة زوجته مع والتر غروبيوس ، في عدة أماكن في الرسوم التخطيطية لهذه الحركة ، يقوم ماهلر بتدوين التعجب الشخصي بالحزن العميق والعذاب. يصادف المرء عبارات الألم مثل "اربارم"، إرحم ، والتي ربما قصدت أيضًا أن تكون إشارة إلى بارسيفال وتصبح رمزًا للمعاناة. كما نرى تود! فيرك! ربما يكون اختصارًا لـ Verklärung بمعنى التجلي ، أو كما يقترح كولين ماثيوز ، تود فيرك (ündigung، في إشارة إلى بشارة الموت التي شوهدت في Wagner's the Valkyries التمثيل الثاني عند نقطة واحدة ، تشير الموسيقى نفسها إلى دافع القدر من دورة رينغ فاغنر.
ستظهر العديد من العناصر الموضوعية والحركية المدرجة هنا مرة أخرى في الحركتين الأخيرتين. تمتد الفترة الفاصلة بين الشكل المقلوب المقلوب من scherzo one من ثانية إلى ثالثة ، ثم الفترة الرابعة ، وهي الفترة المفضلة لماهلر ، مما ينتج شعارًا من ثلاث نغمات يبدو وكأنه قرقعة ساحرة صاخبة وتشغيلها على آلات النفخ الخشبية في سجلاتهم العالية . تم احتواء الشكل الخلوي ذو التفاؤل الرائع الذي يتقدم بمقدار اثنين على ستة عشر صعودًا تدريجيًا في كلا الموضوعين الرئيسيين للحركة. يظهر هنا متغير لدوافع رقصة الشيطان التي سمعت في الحركتين الأوليين. تباين الموضوعات في المفاتيح الرئيسية والثانوية يشير أيضًا إلى النسخة التوافقية لدافع القدر والشكل الإيقاعي المنقط التنازلي الذي يبدو وكأنه صرخة معاناة لا تطاق.

إن Purgatorio عبارة عن هيكل ثلاثي بسيط بشكل مخادع يستدعي حركة Blumina ، والتي هي أكثر أو مستأصلة من السيمفونية الأولى ، لكنها أكثر تقدمًا في هذه الخطة الأرضية. محتواها الموضوعي والتكامل الماهر والعلاقة المتبادلة للمواد الموسيقية ، والتناغمات النمطية الانطباعية ، والإيقاعات المتماوجة الناعمة للمرافقة مجتمعة لخلق جو غامض. التباين الحاد لمفتاح الفتح B المسطح الصغير ، مع النهاية الرئيسية الحادة لـ scherzo one ، له تأثير مقلق أكثر من البداية الحادة الحادة لتلك الحركة. بعد النهاية الرئيسية الحادة والهادئة للحركة الأولى. يفتح المطهر بهدوء مع مقدمة موجزة عن الإيقاع المتماوج الدائم باستخدام نغمات من الوتر الصغير المسطح ناقص الثالث ، فوق إيقاع الباسون أوستيناتو هذا ، تضيف نغمة مزدوجة متكررة مرحة من الثمانات المتقطعة ، وكلارينيت ، وتزيين الكمان الصامت دفعت النغمات الربعية للإيقاع الأساسي شكلًا شريرًا مكونًا من ثلاث نغمات يتكون من رابع صاعد وهبوط ، يتردد صداها بقوة من قبل الباسونات. منذ البداية ، كان الشعور بالخوف يغمر الأجواء الهادئة والتدفق الموسيقي الثابت ، والتكرار الذي لا هوادة فيه لتشكيل الأوتار المتماوج يشير ضمنيًا إلى كل من الحركة المستمرة للوقت وثوراته المستمرة ، وكذلك العودة الأبدية.

تبدأ الكمان الموضوع الرئيسي بشكل مقوس من أربع نغمات ، ومبتهج من ملاحظتين قصيرتين متبوعين برقم من نغمتين على ثانية هابطة ، مع النغمة الأولى مزينة بتريلة. هذا سوف يستدعي الدافع A ، مثل العديد من الدوافع الشيطانية لماهلر ، تحتوي هذه الخلية الموسيقية على نبضة قوية ، تليها نغمة خافتة فجأة. يتكون الموضوع الرئيسي من مواد مجزأة متشابكة معًا ، ويتم تشغيل التدريبات العددية الصاعدة عبر الشريط في تصعيد وشكل الملاحظات الثلاثة المهم من المقدمة على الدافع الثالث الصاعد B ، وهو الشكل الذي سيظهر فيه الأخير في معظم أنحاء معظم في الحركة ، سيعود الدافع B في الحركتين الأخيرتين ، ويبدو دائمًا وكأنه سخرية شريرة من شياطين Mahler الداخلية القاسية.
يتم إغلاق الموضوع الأول من خلال عكس تقدم عناصره المختلفة ، ويتم عكس الأرقام القياسية الصاعدة. الدافع الشيطاني يكون السقوط بدلاً من الارتفاع ، والدافع الشيطاني الافتتاحي A الذي يبدأ الموضوع يغلقه الآن.

المزمار المنفرد يتبع بهدوء ، مع موضوع ثانٍ معبر في B flat major. على عكس الموضوع الأول ، فإن الموضوع الثاني هو بدء القوس كشخصية متجانسة وليست شخصية حادة. هذا المظهر اللطيف إلى حد ما غير الهم يعبث بشكل هزلي مع عناصر الموضوع الأول ، وخاصة الدوافع A و B ، مما يضعف التباين الموضوعي. بعد بيانه الأولي ، يتكرر هذان الدافعان بواسطة آلات الكمان الأولى بشكل مستقل الدافع A يلعب بقوة والدافع B يعزف بهدوء مثل الصدى.

يغير الفلوت الموضوع الثاني عن طريق قلبه جزئيًا. يتم استبعاد كلا الدافعين A و B ، على الرغم من أنهما يظهران بعد انتهاء الفلوت للتحضير لتنوع من السمة الثانية ، الآن في منشط. تعمل الباسونات والأوتار المنخفضة على تغيير شخصية هذا المظهر من خلال إعطائها جودة شريرة داكنة ، مما يجبرها على البدء بشكل منحرف هابط. خلال هذا الاختلاف الكئيب للحن غير اللطيف ، فإن الكمان بغطرسة دافع معين A بينما الأوتار المنخفضة تدخل سرًا الدافع B ، وتعزفه على ثانية صاعدة ، مما يجعله يبدو وكأنه دافع Morden المقلوب من scherzo one. نظرًا لأن هذا الاختلاف في الموضوع الثاني يكتسب زخمًا ويصبح أقوى ، يتم إدخال النعمة الثامنة على أنها متفائلة في نهاية الشكل الصاعد ثم الهابط الذي يمثل جزءًا من هذا الموضوع ، مما يحول طابعه إلى شخصية الموضوع الأول. في الواقع ، بحلول الوقت الذي تعود فيه دوافع A و B في نهاية هذا الاختلاف ، يبدو أن الموضوع الشيطاني الأول قد تجاوز تمامًا الموضوع الثاني الأكثر اعتدالًا. أثبت ماهلر مرة أخرى ازدواجية بين الجانب اللطيف للروح الإنسانية ونظيره الشيطاني المدمر ، المتورط في مناوشة يبدو أنها تسير بشكل سيء بالنسبة للأول.

يبدأ القسم الأوسط حيث دفع النحاس بشكل عاجل الموسيقى إلى الأمام بصرخة شديدة من دافع قف ، ثانية ثانوية ساقطة ، مع الحبل الذي يحل فيه الجزء الثاني من هذا الدافع التغييرات الرئيسية على الأبواق الصغيرة D يتبعها متغير متكرر لدافع رقصة الشيطان ، والذي يتضمن الدافع B يتخلله التيمباني على قرع طبول ماهلر المفضل لأرباع السقوط. فوق هذا الإيقاع الخاطف يأتي تباين مذهل لرقصة الشياطين بإيقاعات منقطة تتدلى تدريجياً. سيتحول هذا البديل الحافز إلى صرخة ألم خلال القسم الأوسط وسيعود في طابعه الأصلي المرعب الشيطاني كجزء من موضوع scherzando النهائي.
تتبع آلات النفخ الخشبية القليل من الشكل السادس عشر للملاحظة التي تستنبط على البديل المتواصل لرقصة الشيطان. يتوسع البوق عند الموضوع الجديد ، مع عبارة تستند إلى الموضوع الثاني من القسم الافتتاحي. يتم بعد ذلك تجميع كل هذه العناصر معًا وتطويرها أولاً ثم الكمان ثم المزامير أثناء هذا التطور ، الدافع der Tag ist schön من الأغنية الرابعة لـ Kindertotenlieder تم إدخالها في شكل المذكرة السادسة عشر لمقياس واحد ، وها هو.

لعب هذا الدافع دورًا مهمًا في السيمفونية التاسعة. كما هو الحال مع ختام الموضوع الأول ، تمت إضافة الدافعين A و B إلى نهاية هذا الجزء. دعنا نستمع من بداية المقطع الأوسط.

تؤدي الدوافع A و B مباشرة إلى موضوع جديد يتم تشغيله بقوة في كل شيء تقوده آلات الكمان. يبدأ بنفس التسلسل المتساقط للإيقاعات المنقطة التي ظهرت في القسم السابق ، ولكن يتم تشغيلها هنا في نسخة موسعة مع إضافة رقم دوران. في البداية ، يبدو هذا الموضوع الجديد حزينًا ، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى سحبه إلى أسفل والإيقاع الثابت إلى حد ما. ولكن مع تقدمه ، يتصاعد الموضوع بدفعة تصاعدية قوية كما لو كان يطلب الراحة من الحزن. فجأة تم قطع الموضوع الجديد عن طريق الدافع A الذي يحاول إعادة موسيقى scherzando من القسم الأول. مرة أخرى ، تغرق الفكرة الجديدة في الأعماق تقشعر لها الأبدان مثل إعلان الموت. نفس العبارة الموضوعية التي تحدث في هذه اللحظة المحتملة ستعود خلال الحركتين الأخيرتين ، حيث ستقطع التدفق اللحني كنذير للموت. أثناء هبوطه ، يخترق متغير من الدافع B النسيج الموسيقي الغامق مثل دفع سيف ذو حدين ، مما يولد صرخة من الألم على وتر متضائل في الرياح ، مما ينذر بنهاية الحركة. لكن حتى هذا الانفجار البارد لا يجمد الموسيقى لأكثر من لحظة. تضيف أوتار الجهير شخصية منعطفة من المظهر الجديد ، حيث يتضاءل قلب الرياح القوي. ثم تحول التلسكوبات إلى عودة موجزة للموضوع الأول من القسم الافتتاحي في المزمار. كما استنتجوا ، يبدو أن البوق الصامت يسخر منهم مع الدافع B هنا الذي يبدو أكثر شيطانية من أي وقت مضى.

تدفع الأوبو الوتيرة إلى الأمام على رقصة الشيطان حيث الكلارينيت والإيقاعات النابضة بالحياة من افتتاح القسم الأوسط ، مقطوعة إلى قصاصات بواسطة الأبواق الصامتة والكمان ، تصرخ بلا رحمة دافع السقوط والإيقاعات التي تُسمع في وقت سابق ، هنا يتم عزفها في الأوكتاف ، ومثقل بطابعه الحزين. ينتقل مالر في أعلى هذه الصفحة من الرسومات التخطيطية لكلمةاربارم"وفي الأسفل ، صرخة اليأس المأساوية يسوع:
يا فهمت! يا فهمت! Warum hast du mich verlassen؟ (اللهم يا الله لماذا تركتني؟)
بعد محاولة قصيرة الأمد بواسطة أجزاء من مادة موضوعية لتحويل الموسيقى بعيدًا عن هذه الانفجارات المأساوية الشديدة ، اربارم يعيد الدافع إلى الأوركسترا الكاملة بقوة ساحقة. في هذه المرحلة ، كتب ماهلر تعبيرًا آخر يشبه المسيح على صفحة الرسم التخطيطي ، دين ويلي geschehe!، (لتكن مشيئتك).
يشير عمق العاطفة الذي أثاره هذا المقطع المختصر إلى مدى تأثر ماهلر بشدة باكتشاف خيانة ألما ، وهي ضربة ساحقة لن يتعافى منها أبدًا.

وللمرة الثالثة بعد ، قطعت الدوافع المزدوجة (أ) و (ب) المأساة اربارم يمكن أن تبدأ العبارة في جسر المرور إلى تكرار قسم فتح الحركات ، باستخدام عناصر من هذا القسم يتم تشغيلها على التوالي بواسطة آلات النفخ الخشبية. بعد شدة الإجراء ، تتبدد الانفجارات ، وتهدأ من خلال هذا الانتقال القصير نسبيًا ، ويعود القسم الأول بإيقاعه الأصلي ، وفي مفتاح منشط. أعادت الكمان صياغة الفكرة الأولى ، ولكن عندما يأخذها الفلوت ، يظهر الدافع B على أنه القطعة المركزية ، فهي تسخر من الشخصية التي تُعطى حافة أكثر حدة عن طريق عض لوحة staccato في الحد الأعلى من نطاق الفلوت.

يعيد المزمار الموضوع الثاني في موضوعه الأصلي المسطح B ، لكن اختلاف الفلوت الذي يليه يحتوي على بدائل طفيفة أهمها امتداد المتغير الساقط للدافع B. يدخل المزمار الآخر بجزء من الموضوع الأول الذي يحتوي على كلا الدافعين A و B ، ويتم تشغيلهما بأوكتاف أعلى. هذه المرة لم يتم قطع الموضوع الأول باختلاف الثاني ، ولكنه يستمر دون انقطاع. عندما تنحسر الموسيقى على البيانيسيمو ، ينفصل كلارينيت وباسون عن الأجزاء الموضوعية للموضوع الأول ، ويتم تغيير الدافع B بحيث يرتفع من خلال نقرة رابعة من خلال ملاحظة نعمة. خلال إعادة إنتاج القسم الأول ، تستمر ostinato المتعرجة في إلقاء الضوء على انتظام واحتكار الحياة اليومية. فجأة ، ينفجر الترومبون الخافت بتحد الدافع الشيطاني لـ B ، يقود كما فعل سابقًا إلى وتر متناقص منخفض من الصبغة الانطباعية ، مما يشعل وميض التنافر الوترى ، يسقط الدافع B بمقدار الخمس المتزايد ، كما لو كان يغرق في الهاوية. تم تزيين هذا الوتر المخيف للعمود الفقري بقيثارة طويلة متقوسة glissando لها تأثير التلويح بالوتر الكئيب. ثم يشير أساس السلسلة إلى الدافع B الذي يبدو الآن باردًا وثقيلًا في أعقاب انفجار الربع التالي. مع لينة تام تام بضرب آخر نغمة من هذا الدافع ، تختفي الموسيقى وتنتهي الحركة كما لو أنها صعدت في نفخة من الدخان. لا يقدم الغموض اللوني للنغمات الوترية إجابة واضحة عما إذا كنا قد شهدنا للتو وحيًا أم خدعة ساحرة. إنه يتذكر الوتر السادس الألماني الغامض الذي افتتح خاتمة السيمفونية السادسة. كما أنه يشبه الانفجار الأوركسترالي المصحوب بموجات من القيثارة glissandos التي تنفجر نحو إغلاق الحركة الثالثة للسمفونية الثالثة. تصورت تلك الحركة عالمًا وسيطًا بين الطبيعة غير الحية والله ، تمامًا كما قد يمثل هذا تصور ماهلر عن الأرض الوسطى بين الجنة والجحيم ، كما هو موضح في سيناريو أندانتي. يبدأ مقتطفنا الأخير من عودة الموضوع الثاني ويستمر حتى نهاية الحركة.


بقلم لو سمولي

إذا وجدت أي أخطاء ، فيرجى إخطارنا عن طريق تحديد هذا النص والضغط CTRL + أدخل.

تقرير الخطأ الإملائي

سيتم إرسال النص التالي إلى المحررين لدينا:

Listening Guide – Movement 3: Purgatorio. Allegretto moderato

Transcript

The so called Purgatorio movement is the shortest of any of Mahler’s, purely symphonic movements lasting little more than four minutes, wedged between two large and complex scherzo’s, this brief relatively uncomplicated movement seems nearly buried by them, its position as the central movement makes it kin to the middle movement of the Seventh Symphony, with which it has some elements in common, such as the prominence of scherzondo-like music, a phantasmagorical atmosphere, and a churning rhythmic underpinning that recalls Das irdische Leben, Mahler captures the same feeling of anxiety at the approach of death, that this Wunderhorn song so pointedly expresses, the creators of performing versions or realizations of the 10th disagree about whether Mahler withdrew the title Purgatorio from this movement before he died. Whatever the case may be the ephemeral eerie quality that pervades the movement, which fits in association with Andante’s masterpiece.
A dark cloud hovers over the principal theme, which anxiously winds its way around the strings as if weaving a web in which to ensnare a potential victim. Piercing outbursts that break the steady rhythmic flow have a chilling effect upon the atmosphere, as if foreshadowing catastrophe. At the end, everything goes up in a puff of smoke, giving the impression that the entire movement might have been nothing but a conjurers fantasy. Mahler’s inner demon lurks behind every turn of phrase like a ghostly specter, patiently awaiting its opportunity to wreck havoc upon the human spirit, as it will in the diabolical movement that follows. In this sense, the purgatorio serves as a preview to the last two movements.
Henry Louis de La Grange conjectures that Mahler began work on the last three movements of the 10th after discovering his wife’s affair with Walter Gropius, in several places in the sketches for this movement, Mahler scrolls personal exclamations of profound grief and torment. One comes across such pain expressions as “erbarme“, have mercy, which also may have been intended as a reference to Parsifal and becomes a symbol for suffering. Also, we see Tod! Verk! probably an abbreviation of Verklärung meaning transfiguration, or as Colin Matthews suggests, Tod Verk(ündigung, a reference to the Annunciation of death seen in Wagner’s the Valkyries act two at one point the music itself alludes to the fate motive from Wagner’s ring cycle.
Numerous thematic and motivic elements included here will reappear in the last two movements. The interval of the inverted morden figure from scherzo one is stretched from a second to a third, and then a fourth, Mahler’s favorite interval, producing a three-note motto that sounds like a shrieking Witch’s cackle and play it on woodwinds in their high registers. A cellular figure with trilled upbeat proceeded by two-sixteenths rising stepwise is contained in both the movement’s principal themes. A variant of the motive of the devil’s dance that had been heard in the first two movements appears here. The contrast of themes in major and minor keys connotes the harmonic version of the motive of fate and a descending dotted rhythmic figure that sounds like the cry of an inconsolable suffer, is also included.
The Purgatorio is deceptively simple tripartite structure recalls the Blumina movement, which more or excised from the First Symphony, but it is much more advanced in this ground plan. Its thematic content and skillful integration and interrelation of musical material, impressionistic modal harmonies, and the soft churning rhythms of the accompaniment combined to create a mysterious atmosphere. The sharp contrast of the opening key B flat minor, with the F sharp major ending of scherzo one has an even more disconcerting effect than had the F sharp minor beginning of that movement. Following the serene F sharp major ending of the first movement. The purgatorial opens quietly with a brief introduction on the churning moto perpetuo rhythm using the notes of a B flat minor chord minus the third, over this ostinato rhythm bassoons add a perky repeating double note couplet of staccato eighths, a clarinet, and muted violins embellish the quarter notes of the underlying rhythm oboes thrust out a wicked three-note figure consisting of a rising and falling fourth, echoed forcefully by bassoons. From the outset, a feeling of apprehension tanks the otherwise calm atmosphere and steady musical flow, relentless repetitions of the churning string figuration connote both the unremitting motion of time and its ceaseless revolutions, as well as eternal return.

Violins begin the principal theme with a four note arching figure, and upbeat of two short notes followed by a two note figure on a falling second, with the first note embellished with a trill. This will call motive A, like so many of Mahler’s demonic motives, this musical cell contains a forceful upbeat, followed by a suddenly soften downbeat. The main theme is constructed of fragmentary materials strung together, rising scalar runs played across the bar on a crescendo and the important anapestic three note figure from the introduction on a rising third motive B, the form in which the latter will appear throughout most of the movement, the motive B will return in the last two movements, always sounding like a wicked sneer from Mahler’s merciless inner demons.
The first theme closes by reversing the progression of its various elements, the rising scalar figures are inverted. The anapestic motive be falls instead of rises, and the opening demonic motive A that begins the theme now closes it.

Solo oboe follows softly, with an expressive second theme in B flat major. In contrast with the first theme, the second theme is initiating arch as a congenial rather than an acrimonious character. This pleasant rather carefree theme playfully tinkers with elements of the first theme, particularly motives A and B, thus weakening thematic contrast. After its initial statement, these two motives are repeated by first violins independently motive A played strongly and motive B played softly like an echo.

A flute varies the second theme by partially inverting it. Both motives A and B are excluded, even though they do appear after the flute finishes to prepare for a variation of the second theme, now in the tonic. Bassoons and low strings transform the character of this theme by giving it a dark sinister quality, forcing it to begin with a lugubrious downward turn figure. During this dismal variation of an otherwise amiable tune, the violins arrogantly a certain motive A while low strings covertly insert motive B, playing it on a rising second, which makes it sound like the inverted Morden motive from scherzo one. As this variation of the second theme gains momentum and become stronger, a grace noted eighth is inserted as an upbeat at the end of the rising and then falling figure that is part of this theme, transforming its character into that of the first theme. In fact, by the time motives A and B return at the end of this variation, the demonic first theme seems to have completely overtaken the milder second theme. Mahler has once again established a duality between a gentle aspect of the human spirit and its devilish destructive counterpart, embroiled in a skirmish that appears to be going badly for the former.

The middle section begins as the brass urgently propelled the music forward with a fierce outcry of the motive of a whoa, a falling minor second, with the cord on which the falling second of this motive resolves the key changes to D minor trumpets follow with a trilled variant of the devil’s dance motive, which includes motive B punctuated by the timpani on Mahler’s favorite drumbeat of falling fourths. Over this pounding rhythm comes a Wunderhornesque variation of the devils dance in trilled dotted rhythms that fall stepwise. This motivic variant will be transformed into a cry of pain during the middle section and will return in its original devilishly playful character as part of the finale scherzando subject.
Woodwinds follow with a bit of 16th note figuration that extrapolates upon the proceeding variant of the devil’s dance. A trumpet expands upon the new theme, with a phrase-based upon the second theme of the opening section. All of these elements are then strung together and developed first and violins and then flutes during the course of this development, the motive der Tag ist schön from the fourth song of Kindertotenlieder is inserted into the 16th note figuration for a single measure, and here it is.

This motive played an important role in the Ninth Symphony. As with the close of the first theme, motives A and B are added to the end of this segment. Let’s listen from the beginning of the middle section.

Motives A and B lead directly into a new theme played strongly the whole thing lead by violins. It begins with the same falling sequence of dotted rhythms that appeared in the preceding section, but here played in an expanded version with a turn figure added. At first, this new theme sounds sorrowful, primarily because of its downward pull and the somewhat holding tempo. But as it proceeds, the theme ascends with a mighty upward thrust as if pleading for relief from sorrow. Suddenly the new theme is cut short by motive A that tries to bring back the scherzando music of the first section. Once again, the new theme sinks to the depths chilling the atmosphere like an annunciation of death. The same thematic phrase that occurs at this potentials moment will return during the final two movements, where it will interrupt the melodic flow as a portent of doom. As it descends, a variant of motive B pierces the dark musical fabric like a rapier thrust, generating a cry of pain on a diminished chord in winds, foreshadowing the ending of the movement. But even this cold blast does not freeze the music for more than a moment. Bass strings add a turn figure from the new theme, as the powerful wind core diminishes. The turn then telescopes into a brief return of the first theme from the opening section in oboes. As they conclude, muted trumpet seem to sneer at them with motive B here made to sound more satanic than ever.

Oboes drive the pace forward on the devil’s dance to which clarinets and anapestic rhythms from the opening of the middle section, broken into snippets by muted trumpets, violins, pitilessly cry out the motive of falling down and rhythms heard earlier, here played in octaves, and weighed down by its own mournful character. Mahler scrolls at the top of this page of the sketches the word “erbarme” and at the bottom, Jesus tragic cry of despair:
O Gott! O Gott! Warum hast du mich verlassen? (Oh, God, oh God, why have you forsaken Me?)
After a short-lived attempt by fragments of thematic material to divert the music away from these increasingly intense tragic outbursts, the erbarme motive re enters in the full orchestra with overwhelming force. At this point Mahler wrote yet another Christ-like expression on the sketch page, Dein Wille geschehe!, (Thy will be done).
The depth of emotion evoked by this brief passage indicates how profoundly affected Mahler must have been by the discovery of Alma’s infidelity, a crushing blow from which he would never recover.

For yet the third time, the coupled motives A and B, cut off the tragic erbarme phrase can begin to bridge passage to the reprise of the movements opening section, using elements from that section played in succession by woodwinds. After the intensity of the proceeding, outbursts dissipate, calmed by this relatively brief transition, the first section returns in its original tempo, and in the tonic key. Violins restate the first theme, but when the flute takes it up, motive B appears as the centerpiece, it’s mocking character given a sharper edge by biting staccatos plate at the upper limit of the flute’s range.

An oboe reprises the second theme in its original B flat major, but the flute variation that follows contains slight alternations the most significant of which is the extension of the falling variant of motive B. Another oboe enters with a fragment of the first theme that contains both motives A and B, and is played an octave higher. This time the first theme is not cut off by a variation of the second, but continues without interruption. As the music softens to pianissimo, a clarinet and bassoon spin off thematic fragments of the first theme, motive B is altered so that it rises by a fourth flicked by a grace note. Throughout the reprise of the first section, the winding ostinato continues keynoting the regularity and monopoly of everyday life. Suddenly a muted trombone defiantly blasts out the demonic motive of B, leading as it did earlier into a low diminished chord of an impressionistic hue, igniting this flash of chordal dissonance, motive B falls by an augmented fifth, as if plunging into the abyss. This spine-chilling chord is embellished with a long arching harp glissando that has the effect of waving off the gloomy chord. String basis then state motive B now sounding cold and heavy in the wake of the proceeding quarter outburst. With a soft tam tam stroke on the last note of this motive, the music vanishes and the movement ends as if having gone up in a puff of smoke. The tonal vagueness of the concluding chord offers no clear answer as to whether we’ve just witnessed a revelation or a conjuring trick. It does recall the mysterious German sixth chord that opened the finale of The Sixth Symphony. It is also akin to the orchestral outburst accompanied by waves of harp glissandos that break in toward the close of the third movement of the Third Symphony. That movement envisioned an Intermediate Realm between inanimate nature and God, just as this one may represent Mahler’s conception of the middle ground between heaven and hell, as depicted in Andante’s scenario. Our last excerpt begins from the return of the second theme and continues to the end of the movement.


By Lew Smoley

If you have found any errors, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: