دليل الاستماع - مقدمة السمفونية رقم 9

النص الكامل

مع Ninth Mahler يعود إلى السيمفونية الأوركسترالية البحتة ، بعد أن نجح في دمج الجوقة والأوركسترا في دورته الثامنة ، وأنواع دورة الأغنية والسيمفونية و داس ليد فون دير إردييوجه ماهلر انتباهه إلى الموسيقى الأوركسترالية المجردة البحتة لسيمفونيات الفترة الوسطى للتعبير عن أفكار الموت القاتمة التي أحاطت به خلال سنواته الأخيرة.
لا يزال ماهلر قائدًا نشطًا ، فقد وضع خططًا طموحة للمستقبل ، ومع ذلك لا بد أنه أدرك أن صحته كانت تتضاءل. على الرغم من أن الوفيات كانت قضية ملحة لماهلر طوال معظم حياته الاغنيةأصبح أسلوبه في التعبير شخصيًا بشكل مكثف وأصبحت أفكارًا فلسفية عميقة عن موته دافعًا لمزيد من اليأس في بحثه المهووس عن المعنى والقيمة في الوجود البشري كمبرر لاضطراره لتحمل معاناة غير مبررة ، والتي تؤدي فقط إلى القبر. على الرغم من أن أسلوب التعبير الموسيقي يظل غير موضوعي بعمق ، يبدو أن ماهلر وصل إلى مستوى جديد من التجريد في التاسع وهو يستعرض عالم كلمات المرور البشرية ، كما لو كان من مستوى بعيد. يرى معظم المعلقين أن التاسع هو وداع ماهلر للحياة ، ويتعرفون على ذلك مثل الاغنية إنه يركز على الموت ، ولكن في التاسع يبدو ماهلر أكثر عزمًا على التعبير عن الجانب السلبي للقضية ، ويمثل مشكلة الوفيات البشرية من منظور جديد ، والإشارات الموسيقية إلى الاغنية التي تظهر في الجزء التاسع ليست بأي حال من الأحوال تنازلاً عن أن المشكلة قد تم حلها بالتأكيد في العمل السابق. لذا في التاسع ، يبدأ ماهلر مرة أخرى في استكشاف الجوانب الإيجابية والسلبية للحياة البشرية من أجل إيجاد معنى وقيمة مستدامين في مواجهة الموت المحتوم.

- هل أطلق ديريك كوك على سيمفونية ماهلر اسم "ليلة الروح المظلمة" ، مضيفًا أنها تشير إلى انحدار ماهلر الأبعد إلى تل اليأس؟ وفقًا للطاهي ، "يُواجه الموت على مستوى وجودي عاري ويُنظر إليه على أنه كلي القدرة".
- يعتقد Hans Redlich أن "موقف ماهلر من سيمفونياته الثلاثة الأخيرة كان مزعجًا ومتناقضًا وأحيانًا مرضيًا تقريبًا". لقد فعل الكثير لإدامة الأسطورة القائلة بأن ماهلر شعر غريزيًا أن موسيقاه الأخيرة كانت مذكرة وفاته.
- اقترح بول بيكر أنه يمكن تسمية التاسع "بما يخبرني به الموت". بعد موضة العناوين ، أعطى ماهلر في البداية حركات سمفونيته الثالثة.
- يعتبر جارتنبرج وبارفورد سمفونية موت ماهلر التاسع وتجليه.
- شبهه Carl H. Verner بـ Tchaikovsky Pathétique Symphony في شكله العام ومضمونه. ربما كان ماهلر سيجد مقارنةً مزعجة لأنه اعتقد أن موسيقى تشايكوفسكي ضحلة في الغالب.
- استكشف دونالد ميتشل علاقة السمفونية الوثيقة بعمل آخر موجه نحو الموت ، وهو Kindertotenlieder.
- يشير بيرنت شوبنهاور إلى لغز الموت الغامض الذي يعتقد أنه يتخلل السمفونية.
- ذهب ليونارد بيرنشتاين في محاضراته التي ألقاها في نورتون في كلية هارفارد إلى أبعد من ذلك ليقترح أن التاسعة كانت رؤية نبوية لأهوال القرن العشرين ، وانتهت بالصلاة الحماسية من أجل الخلاص من الدمار الرهيب الذي يمكن أن يلحق بالجنس البشري قريبًا.
- بالنظر إلى هذا السياق ، تبدو وجهة نظر قسطنطين فلوروس إيجابية للغاية ، حيث قال: "على الرغم من الحالة المزاجية الكامنة في الوداع والحداد ، فإن العمل يُظهر قوة بناءة رائعة ، مما يبرر الإشارة إليه على أنه المثال الأول للموسيقى الجديدة "، غير مقتبس.

أولئك الذين يفسرون التاسع على أنه سيمفونية عن الموت في مظهر أو آخر ، عادة ما يدعمون موقفهم من خلال الإشارة إلى أنه في النهاية ، يصبح ماهلر مستسلمًا لمصيره ، تمامًا كما فعل في نهاية الاغنية. أعتقد أن التاسع لا يتعلق فقط بالموت ، ولا ينتهي بالاستسلام المأساوي للقدر. كونه نيتشويًا في مزاجه ، كان ماهلر يتمتع بحب عميق للحياة ، كما يوضح داس ليد ، لكنه كان مسكونًا بمفارقة معاناة البشرية اللامتناهية والسعي الدؤوب لتحقيق أهداف لم تتحقق في ذلك الوقت. كفنان وجودي ، شعر بعبثية هذه المفارقة بشكل حاد خلال السنوات الأخيرة من حياته ، حيث أصبح أكثر وعياً بموته الوشيك ، واستمر ماهلر في التعامل مع مفارقة الحياة والموت في موسيقاه حتى النهاية. لم يكن يخشى الموت باعتباره ناقلًا للتعذيب اللانهائي في نار الجحيم الأبدي ، ولكن كنهاية للعيش ، والفقدان التام للوعي بالأضواء العجيبة ، وإثارة الدافع الإبداعي أثيرت في طابور الإعدام ، كان بحاجة ماسة للتصالح الموت كنهاية مع التجارب والمحن التي عانى منها من أجل إيجاد معنى وقيمة في حياته الخاصة ، وبالتالي استرداد قيمتها الحقيقية. في هذا الصدد ، كان إنسانًا عصريًا مكتوبًا بشكل كبير ، محاصرًا في اضطرابات الحياة التي لا معنى لها ، وخاضعًا لمعاناة لا نهاية لها ، ويعيش بلا أرض ، دون معنى أو هدف نهائي.

In الاغنية، مالر لا يستسلم للموت فقط كاستنتاج مأساوي لحياة لا معنى لها ، ولكنه يقبل الموت البشري كجزء من الحياة التي ستستمر كالكلمات في الاغنية ضعها لتتفتح في الربيع ، إلى الأبد.

في التاسع ، يواجه ماهلر مرة أخرى الرؤى الرهيبة لمشهد المقبرة الموصوف في حركة قيادة ترنك الاغنية. هذه المرة يستحضر مثل هذه الأفكار المليئة بالقلق ، ليس في إضفاء المثالية على الزمان والمكان ، ولكن في عالمه الخاص ، الذي كان هو نفسه يموت من انحطاطه ، في عربدة من الانغماس الذاتي الحمقاء.
وجد فيينا المقدسة والتقليد الموسيقي الأوروبي ، وكلاهما كان يحب التعامل مع إظهار علامات مرئية على الزوال الوشيك. بدأت الأفكار السوسيولوجية والنفسية والفنية الراديكالية تترسخ في مطلع القرن الماضي ، وكان مالا على دراية بها جيدًا ، حتى لو لم يتقبلها تمامًا. يمكن القول إن معالجته الضالة للمبادئ الموسيقية التقليدية قد عززت تطوير الموسيقى الحديثة التي سرعان ما أطاحت بالكثير من معايير التكوين الراسخة التي لا يزال يقبلها. على الرغم من أن ماهلر أعطى إيماءة لهذه التطورات ، كإفراج عن الرغبة الإبداعية ، فإن الفكرة على سبيل المثال ، في نهاية نغمة الصوت من المحتمل أن تزعجه.

وهكذا شهد ماهلر بقلق بالغ ما يمكن أن يكون رؤية نبوية للزوال الوشيك للحضارة والتقاليد الموسيقية ، وكلاهما كان يحبه ، وأصبح هذا أيضًا مصدرًا للدراما التي تتكشف في التاسع. قد يكون من الأجدر بحب ماهلر العميق للحياة ألا يكون الاقتراب من التاسعة ليس سيمفونية عن الموت بقدر ما هو وداع للحياة.
بالنسبة إلى حياة ماهلر الإبداعية ، فهي مغروسة في السيمفونية ، والتي تلخص الكثير من إنتاجه ، من حيث الأسلوب ومن خلال استخدام العديد من الإشارات إلى أعماله السابقة ، كما هو الحال في معظم سمفونياته الأوركسترالية البحتة ، تحتوي الحركات الخارجية على الحجج الموسيقية الرئيسية:

- الحركة الأولى تحدد القضايا الأساسية التي يتعين حلها في النهاية.
- الحركة الثانية تعارض الرقصات الأوروبية التقليدية ، ولا سيما النمساوية ضد بعضها البعض ، كرمز لتضارب الخصائص المجتمعية.
- في الحركة الثالثة ، كانت لدغة ماهلر سخرية في لدغة عرضه المميز أكثر وضوحًا.

لكن على عكس جميع سيمفونياته السابقة تقريبًا ، باستثناء وحيد للثالث ، يختم ماهلر التاسعة بحركة بطيئة ، لا خاتمة منتصرة ، ولا تأليه ، بل صلاة حارة من أجل بقاء الروح البشرية ، الخاضعة ل القوة التدميرية للقوى السلبية بداخلها. لن تنتهي هذه الصلاة باستسلام ميؤوس منه ، ولكن بقبول الحياة التي تشمل جوانبها السلبية وكذلك الإيجابية ، وبالتالي تذكر الفلسفة الأساسية لـ الاغنية.

ليس الأمر أن ماهلر يختتم التاسعة بحركة بطيئة هي التي تجعل هذه السمفونية متقدمة جدًا من الناحية الهيكلية ، ولكنه أيضًا يبدأها بحركة بطيئة. وهكذا ، فإن الحركتين الخارجيتين اللتين تحتويان على الحجة الوجودية الرئيسية للعمل تم تعيينهما بوتيرة بطيئة بشكل غير معهود. الحركتان الوسطيتان هما الأكثر نموذجية في النهج الماهليري ، حيث تعملان كتحويلات من شدة الحركة الافتتاحية ، وتحتويان على مادة موضوعية ودافعية سيتم تحويلها في النهاية. حتى أن ماهلر يربط التاسع بسلفه المباشر ، داس ليد فون دير إردي من خلال العديد من المراجع اللحنية والمتعددة. كما يتذكر الأعمال السابقة بمواد موسيقية محددة تربطها بما يحدث في التاسعة في لحظة معينة.
تقدم المقاييس الافتتاحية للحركة الثالثة كتالوجًا لشظايا من سمفونيات ماهلر السابقة. في الحركة الثانية ، يتم وضع الرقصات الشعبية من حياة الريف والمدينة ضد بعضها البعض ، كما كانت في الشيرزوس في السمفونيات الرابعة والخامسة.

معاش مالر للمسيرات ليس غائبًا هنا أيضًا. وبدلاً من ذلك ، فإن المسيرة الفاترة التي تتخطى إيقاعًا تشكل الموضوع الأول للحركة الافتتاحية. يتذكر A Wild scherzo الحركات المقابلة للسمفونيات الخامسة والسابعة. حتى الخاتمة الشبيهة بالصلاة تعود إلى خاتمة السيمفونية الثالثة ، كما في الخامسة ، يحاول ماهلر ربط الحركتين الأخيرتين بشكل كبير من خلال تطبيق تقنية التحول الدرامي ، وذلك لإعادة توصيف السيمفونية الثالثة تمامًا. في جميع هذه النواحي ، يمكن اعتبار الجزء التاسع بمثابة معرض موسيقي بأثر رجعي حول تاريخ ماهلر التركيبي الذي يتطلع إلى الوراء إلى الأسلوب الذي يتسم بالمرارة أحيانًا خلال حياته المهنية القصيرة جدًا. كتب على عجل لفائف على مخطوطاته تشير إلى حالته العقلية أثناء التأليف ، "كل أيام الشباب التي اختفت ، وكل الحب المشتت" ، كما كتب.
ومع ذلك ، فإن الجانب الموضوعي من أسلوبه التكويني هو الاهتمام المتزايد بتعدد الأصوات الواغنري مع سحره في القوام المنسوج كما هو واضح في هذا البسيط ، لا سيما في الحركة الثالثة. كتب ماهلر صفحة العنوان فوق تلك الحركات حاضن العقل في بوليا إخواني في أبولو مع هذا التفاني النيتشوي ، كان ماهلر يقصد بلا شك نقل أهمية الجانب الأبولوني أو الموضوعي للموسيقى الظاهر في تعدد الأصوات المعقدة.

على مستوى آخر ، يمكن اعتبار التاسع وداعًا للنغمة. كان ماهلر قد جرب بالفعل مثل هذه الحداثة مثل اللونية في داس ليد. بالطبع ، منذ البداية ، انجذب إلى مبادئ Wagnerian التي سعت إلى كسر قيود اللونية التقليدية. لكن أسلوبه التركيبي ظل راسخًا في المفاهيم النغمية التقليدية ، حتى لو تحرر كثيرًا منها لتحقيق تأثير درامي معين ، وانفصل عنها تمامًا من حيث خطته الأرضية الشاملة ، عندما تناسب أغراضه. يمكن وصف النظرة اللونية للدرجة التاسعة على أنها نغمة تدريجية ، أو ربما نغمة تنازلية أكثر ملاءمة.
يبدأ التاسع في D الكبرى ، وينتهي في D المسطح الرئيسي ، نصف خطوة أقل. هل على سبيل المثال ، التقدم اللوني هنا هو عكس السيمفونية الخامسة التي تتحرك صعودًا بمقدار نصف خطوة واحدة ، إذا صح التعبير ، من C الحادة الثانوية إلى D الكبرى.

على الرغم من استمرار انهيار الدرجة اللونية التقليدية التاسعة ، فقد اقترح البعض أن ماهلر لم يكن يرغب في زوالها تمامًا ، مثل بعض زملائه الأصغر سناً في فيينا ، مثل شوينبيرج ، كان بيرج ويبرن يفكران بالفعل في نهاية حياة ماهلر.
اختبر ماهلر بذهول شديد ، موسيقى شوينبيرج ، موسيقى جديدة ، كما سماها ، والتي بدت وكأنها تحمل انحلالًا نغميًا إلى أقصى حدودها. ربما على عكس غرائزه ، حجب مالر النقد السلبي ، واكتفى بالاعتراف بأنه ببساطة لا يستطيع فهم هذه الموسيقى على الإطلاق.
بعد كل شيء ، كان ماهلر راسخًا بقوة في التقليد السمفوني النمساوي الجرماني ، حتى لو لم يلتزم باستمرار بمبادئه. هناك مجموعة نغمية قوية في التاسع تحددها ، ضمن هذا التقليد ، بينما لا تزال تنحرف عنه. ربما تنبأ ماهلر بنهاية اللونية كنتيجة حتمية للون لونية فاجنرية. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فقد يكون قد نوى تكريم مبادئ التكوين العريقة التي طبقها وابتعد عنها في بحث لا ينتهي عن الوسائل الصحيحة التي يمكن من خلالها نقل مفاهيمه الدرامية.

العديد من الجوانب الأخرى من القرن التاسع تذكرنا بالقرن التاسع عشر بدلاً من التطلع إلى القرن العشرين ، متجاهلاً مجموعة الحجرة التي استخدمها في الاغنية، عاد ماهلر في التاسع إلى الأوركسترا الرومانسية الكبيرة الحجم في هذه الفترة الوسطى ، ويستخدم الأشكال السيمفونية التقليدية مثل السوناتا والروندو وأشكال الاختلافات ، كما فعل في معظم سمفونيات الفترات الوسطى ، حيث دمج عناصرها معًا لتقديم المزيد شكل عملي ، حيث يعرض أفكاره الموسيقية المعقدة يتم وضع مقاطع ثنائية الأبعاد هائلة جنبًا إلى جنب مع مقاطع تشبه الحجرة ، في حين يتناقض تعدد الأصوات المعقدة مع الأنسجة الموسيقية الشفافة والشفافة. الإيقاعات المتقاطعة المعقدة والعبارات الثقيلة لـ Das Lied غائبة حتى التاسعة. تترك ماهلر العالم الأثيري لأبنائهم التي كانت وراءها بعيدًا وتستعيد نبضها الإيقاعي الثابت. إن الترويح الموضح في التاسع مرتبط بالأرض بدرجة لا تسمح له بالتركيز على الإيقاعات التي تخلق إحساسًا بالخلود الأبدي. ومع ذلك ، يضع ماهلر شعارين إيقاعيين متناقضين في الحركة الأولى التي يمكن أن يقال عنها في هذا الصدد لتمثيل المستوى الأرضي والعالم الذي وراءه.

تم تعيين أحد الشعارات على عارضة إيقاعية متساوية ، والآخر في حالة إغماء غير مستقر. يبدو أن المقاطع العرضية من النغمات الثابتة معلقة في الوقت المناسب ، كما لو كانت تحاول كبح النهاية الحتمية ، بالطبع ، هناك الكثير في الجزء التاسع يتطلع إلى الأمام وكذلك إلى الخلف بجانب امتداد التقليد. مبادئ الدرجة اللونية. يتم توسيع الأشكال السمفونية وترابطها ، وتتطلع مجموعات الغرف إلى تركيز مدارس فيينا الثانية على مجموعات الآلات الصغيرة.

يستمر ماهلر في توسيع المبادئ النغمية إلى ما وراء الحدود الكلاسيكية ، ولتطوير إحساسه الشديد بالألوان الآلية مع الاستخدام الإبداعي للمجموعات المتنوعة ، أصبحت التنافرات أكثر فظاظة ووضوحًا من أي من السيمفونيات منذ السادسة. قد يُقال إن القدم التاسعة غُرست بقوة في القرن التاسع عشر ، والأخرى تم وضعها بتردد في القرن العشرين.


بقلم لو سمولي

إذا وجدت أي أخطاء ، فيرجى إخطارنا عن طريق تحديد هذا النص والضغط CTRL + أدخل.

تقرير الخطأ الإملائي

سيتم إرسال النص التالي إلى المحررين لدينا:

Listening Guide – Symphony No. 9 Intro

Transcript

With the Ninth Mahler returns to a purely orchestral Symphony, after having succeeded in integrating chorus and orchestra in his Eighth, and the genres of song cycle and Symphony and Das Lied von der Erde, Mahler turns his attention to the purely abstract orchestral music of his middle period symphonies to express the dark thoughts of death that enveloped him during his last years.
Still an active conductor, Mahler made ambitious plans for the future, yet he must have realized that his health was waning. Although mortality was a burning issue for Mahler throughout most of his life with Das Lied, his manner of expression became more intensely personal and deeply philosophical thoughts of his own death motivated greater desperation in his obsessive search for meaning and value in human existence as a justification for having to endure unwarranted suffering, which leads only to the grave. Although the manner of musical expression remains deeply subjective, Mahler seems to reach a new level of abstraction in the ninth as he surveys the world of human passos, as if from a distant plane. Most commentators see the ninth is Mahler’s farewell to life, and recognize that like Das Lied it focuses upon death, but in the ninth Mahler seems more intent on expressing the negative side of the issue, representing the problem of human mortality from a new perspective, musical references to Das Lied that appear in the ninth are by no means a concession that the problem had been definitely resolved in the previous work. So in the ninth, Mahler begins yet again, to explore both the positive and negative sides of human life in order to find sustainable meaning and value in the face of inevitable death.
Does Derek Cook called the symphony Mahler’s dark night of the soul, adding that it marks Mahler’s furthermost descent into the hill of despair? According to cook, “death is confronted on a naked existential plane and is seen as omnipotent”.
– Hans Redlich believed “that Mahler’s attitude toward his final three symphonies was morbid, contradictory, and at times almost pathological”. He did much to perpetuate the myth that Mahler instinctively felt his last music was his own death warrant.
– Paul Becker suggested that the ninth could be called “what death tells me”. After the fashion of the titles, Mahler initially gave to the movements of his Third Symphony.
– Gartenberg and Barford consider the ninth Mahler’s death and transfiguration Symphony.
– Carl H. Verner likens it to Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique Symphony in both its overall form and substance. A comparison Mahler probably would have found disturbing since he thought Tchaikovsky’s music shallow for the most part.
– Donald Mitchell explored the symphony’s close relationship to another death-oriented work, Kindertotenlieder.
– Bernt Schopenhauer refers to a vague Death Mystique that he believes permeates the symphony.
– Leonard Bernstein in his Norton lectures delivered at Harvard College went so far as to suggest that Mahler’s ninth was a prophetic vision of the horrors of the 20th century, ending in fervent prayer for salvation from the terrible destruction that could soon be visited upon humankind.
– Considered in this context, Constantine Floros viewpoint seems overly positive, in he said, “in spite of the underlying mood of farewell and mourning, the work displays magnificent constructive to tonic strength, which justifies referring to it as the first example of new music”, unquote.

Those who interpret the ninth as a symphony about death in one manifestation or another, usually support their position by suggesting that in the finale, Mahler becomes resigned to his fate, just as he did at the end of Das Lied. I believe that the ninth is neither merely about death, nor does it end in tragic resignation to fate. Being a Nietzschean in temperament, Mahler had a profound love of life, as Das Lied makes evident, but he was haunted by the paradox of humanity’s endless suffering and incessant striving for goals that was then without fulfillment. As an existential artist, he felt the absurdity of this paradox acutely during the last years of his life, as he became more aware of his own imminent death, Mahler continued to grapple with the life death paradox in his music until the very end. He did not fear death as the conveyor of endless tortures in eternal hellfire, but as the end of living, the total loss of the consciousness of lights wonder, and the thrill of the creative drive is raised on death row, he desperately needed to reconcile death as finality with the trials and tribulations he suffered in order to find meaning and value in his own life, and thereby redeem its true worth. In this respect, he was modern man writ large, caught up in life senseless turmoil, subjected to endless suffering, and living without ground, without ultimate meaning or purpose.
In Das Lied, Mahler does not merely resign himself to death as a tragic conclusion to a meaningless life, but accepts human mortality as part of life that will continue as the words in Das Lied put it to blossom forth in spring, eternally.

In the ninth, Mahler again confronts the terrible visions of the graveyard scene described in the trink lead movement of Das Lied. This time he conjures up such angst ridden thoughts, not in idealize time and place, but in his own world, which itself was dying from its own decadence, in an orgy of senseless self indulgence.
Found a Sacred Vienna and the European musical tradition, both of which he loved dealing with showing visible signs of impending demise. Radical sociological, psychological and artistic ideas began to take hold around the turn of the last century, mala was well aware of them, even if he did not accept them completely. Get his wayward treatment of traditional musical principles could be said to have fostered the development of modern music that was soon to overthrow much of the established standards of composition he still accepted. Although Mahler gave a nod to these developments, as release of the creative urge, the thought for example, at the end of tonality would probably have troubled him.

Thus Mahler witnessed with great concern what could be a prophetic vision of the impending demise of both civilization and musical tradition, both of which he loved, and this too became a source for the drama that unfolds in the ninth. It may be more worthy of Mahler’s deep love of life to approach the ninth not as a symphony about death as much as a farewell to life.
For Mahler’s creative life is infused in the symphony, which summarizes much of his output, both stylistically and through the use of numerous references to his previous works, as in most of his purely orchestral symphonies, the outer movements contain the principal musical arguments:
– The first movement establishes the basic issues to be resolved in the finale.
– The second movement opposes traditional European, particularly Austrian dances against each other, as symbolic of conflicting societal characteristics.
– In the third movement, the sting of Mahler sarcasm in the bite of his para distinct width is most apparent.
But unlike nearly all of his previous symphonies, with the sole exception of the third, Mahler ends the ninth with a slow movement, neither a triumphant conclusion, nor an apotheosis, but a fervent prayer for the survival of the human spirit, subjected to the destructive power of negative forces within it. That prayer will conclude not in hopeless resignation, but with an acceptance of life that encompasses its negative as well as positive aspects, and thereby recalls the underlying philosophy of Das Lied.

It is not that Mahler concludes the ninth with a slow movement that makes this Symphony so structurally advanced, but that he also begins it with a slow movement. Thus, the two outer movements that contain the main existential argument of the work are set an uncharacteristically slow pace. The two middle movements are more typically Mahlerian in approach, functioning as diversions from the intensity of the opening movement, and containing thematic and motivic material that will be transformed in the finale. Mahler even relates the ninth to its immediate predecessor, Das Lied von der Erde through several melodic and multivac references. He also recalls earlier works with identifiable musical material that connects them to what is happening in the ninth at a given moment.
The opening measures of the third movement present a catalogue of fragments from earlier Mahler symphonies. In the second movement, popular dances from country and city life, are set against each other, much as they were in the scared souls of the fourth and fifth symphonies.

Mahler’s pension for marches is not absent here either. Rather tepid March that skips a beat forms the first subject of the opening movement. A wild scared soul recalls the corresponding movements of the fifth and seventh symphonies. Even the prayer like finale harkens back to the finale of the Third Symphony, as in the Fifth, Mahler attempts to connect the last two movements dramatically by applying the technique of dramatic transformation, so as to completely re characterize the connecting theme. In all these respects the ninth could be considered a musical retrospective on Mahler’s compositional history that looks back to stylegicly get sometimes bitterly upon his all too short career. hastily written scrolls on his manuscripts indicate his state of mind during the composition, “all vanished days of youth, all scattered love”, he writes.
Yet the objective side of his compositional style is increasing interest in Wagnian polyphony with its fascinating into woven textures is also apparent in this simple, particularly in the third movement. Over that movements, title page Mahler wrote mind brooder in a Paul, my brothers in Apollo with this Nietzschean dedication, Mahler undoubtedly intended to convey the importance of the Apollonian or objective aspect of music apparent in its complex polyphony.

On another level, the ninth might be considered a farewell to tonality. Mahler had already experimented with such modernism’s as by tonality in Das Lied. Of course from the first he was attracted to Wagnerian principles that sought to break the constraints of traditional tonality. But his compositional style remained firmly grounded in traditional tonal concepts, even if he frequently broke free from them to achieve a particular dramatic effect, and parted with them completely in terms of his overall ground plan, when it suited his purposes. The tonal overview of the ninth might be described as progressive tonality, or perhaps more aptly regressive tonality.
For the ninth begins in D major, and ends in D flat major, a half step lower. Does for example, the tonal progress here is the converse of the Fifth Symphony that moves upward by half a step one progresses, if you will, from C sharp minor to D major.

Although in the ninth traditional tonality continues to break down, some have suggested that Mahler would not have wished its complete demise, as some of his younger Viennese colleagues, such as Schoenberg, Berg, and Webern were already contemplating at the end of Mahler’s life.
Mahler experienced with utter amazement, the music of Schoenberg, a new music, he called, that appeared to carry tonal dissolution to its limits. Probably against his instincts, Mahler withheld negative criticism, merely admitting that he simply could not understand this music at all.
After all, Mahler was firmly entrenched in the Austro Germanic Symphonic tradition, even if he did not adhere consistently to its principles. There is a strong tonal pool in the ninth that identifies it, as within that tradition, while still deviating from it. Perhaps Mahler foresaw the end of tonality as an inevitable result of Wagnerian chromaticism. If so, he may well have intended to pay homage to the time honored principles of composition that he both applied and strayed from in an unending search for the right means by which to convey his dramatic conceptions. Many other aspects of the ninth recall the 19th century rather than look forward to the 20th, discarding the chamber ensemble he used in Das Lied, Mahler returns in the ninth to the large scale romantic orchestra of this middle period, he uses traditional symphonic forms such as sonata, rondo and variations form, as he did in most of his middle periods symphonies, fusing their elements together to provide a more workable format, within which to present his complex musical ideas. Enormous 2D passages are juxtaposed against chamber like segments, while complex polyphony contrasts with lean, transparent musical textures. The intricate cross rhythms and heavy oehlers of Das Lied are absent to the ninth. Mahler leaves the ethereal world of their ob she’d far behind and reestablishes a firm rhythmic pulse. The valgum shown of the ninth is too earthbound to dwell on rhythms that create a sense of eternal timelessness. Yet Mahler even juxtaposes two contrasting rhythmic mottos in the first movement that might be said in this respect to represent the earthly plane and a world beyond.
One motto set on an even rhythmic keel, the other in unsteady syncopation. Occasional passages of sustained tones seem to be suspended in time, as if trying to hold back the inevitable end, of course, there is much in the ninth that looks forward as well as backward beside the extension of tradition. tonal principles. symphonic forms are expanded and interrelated, and chamber ensembles look forward to the second Vienna schools emphasis on small instrumental groupings. Mahler continues to stretch tonal principles beyond classical confines, and to develop his keen sense of instrumental color with creative use of diverse ensembles, dissonances become cruder and sharper than any of the symphonies since the sixth. The ninth might be said to have one foot planted firmly in the 19th century, and the other hesitantly placed in the 20th


By Lew Smoley

If you have found any errors, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: