تخرج ديفيد جوثارد بدرجة ماجستير في الفلسفة والتاريخ الأفريقي من جامعة إدنبرة خلال أربع سنوات عندما لعبت الدراما الطلابية دورًا مهمًا. بصفته خريجًا من المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في بودابست ، أخرج أعمالًا رائدة واستفزازية لكل من TS Eliot و Beckett و Pinter. عمل في مسرح رويال كورت ، لندن ، تحت الإدارة الفنية ليندسي أندرسون وويليام جاسكيل.

انضم إلى استوديوهات ريفرسايد في لندن عام 1977 تحت قيادة بيتر جيل ، خلال فترة مؤثرة: في موسم الافتتاح ، تم إطلاق "The Cherry Orchard" الأسطوري الآن من Peter Gill ، عمل Athol Fugard من جنوب إفريقيا ، وهو أول تعاون مسرحي لـ Miro منذ Diaghilev و Shuji "اتجاهات الخدم" Terayama.

قبل عام من ذلك ، في عام 1976 ، كان ديفيد قد استخدم بالفعل ريفرسايد في فيلم The Dead Class لـ Tadeusz Kantor's الذي أثار ضجة كبيرة في تاريخ مهرجان إدنبرة بتغطيته التلفزيونية التي وضعت سابقة للعمل الدولي ، وليس مقصورًا على شكل فني واحد ، ووضع أسلوبًا لـ تمتلئ ريفرسايد بأحداث ريفرسايد (المكان) بدلاً من الفصل الصارم بين الفنون. لقد ذهبت للحصول على طاقة المكان ومفاجأته بالإضافة إلى الحدث الفني. أقيم معرض كانتور المنبثق مع بولتانسكي بالتوازي مع معرض وايت تشابل الرسمي برعاية نيكولاس سيروتا.

وكان من بين الكتاب الذين تطوروا في السنوات الأولى حنيف قريشي وتوند إيكولي وستيفن بولياكوف وديفيد درين وستيفن لوي. عرضوا وغيرهم أعمالهم من خلال مهرجانات قصيرة المدى لعمل جديد بما في ذلك هيكل Plays Umbrella ، والذي تضمن مصطفى ماتورا وإدغار وايت وبيتر جيل ونيكولاس رايت. بدأ المديرون حياتهم المهنية ، غالبًا من خلال العروض غير الرسمية ، بما في ذلك سيمون آشر ، وديفيد ليفو ، وتينا باكر ، وستيفن دالدري ، وسيمون ماكبرني مع حدث Complicite رائد.

الكتاب الأمريكيون الذين قدمهم ديفيد بنجاح إلى بريطانيا هم إميلي مان ونعومي والاس وديفيد هانكوك وجوشوا كاستيل.

لعبت العلاقة بين الكتابة والسينما دورًا مهمًا في أنشطة ديفيد في ريفرسايد ، حتى قبل أن يتم بناء سينما 35 ملم ، تم بناء الكثير منها بمبادرة من زميله السينمائي جان داوسون. مع شاشة مقاس 16 مم معلقة من سطح أحد الاستوديوهات ، طور كل من بيل فورسيث وبيتر غريناواي ولازار ستويانوفيتش وريبيكا أوبراين وأندرو إيتون جذور حياتهم المهنية. في عام 1985 ، وجد Andrei Tarkovsky مقرًا رئيسيًا هناك لبناء "The Sacrifice". أدار لجنة عمل لـ Tarkovsky حيث طور كلاهما إمكانية فيلم "Hamlet" كفيلم. كان حنيف قريشي قد عمل في مكتب ديفيد ، ودفعت عبوتهم التي تحتوي على سيناريو "My Beautiful Laundrette" ستيفن فريرز وتيم بيفان إلى تغيير جذري في مشهد الفيلم البريطاني بتأسيس شركة بيفان ووركينغ تيتل.

تم ترشيح معرض ريفرسايد بشكل فريد لجائزة تيرنر في عام 1984. وازدهرت تحت إدارة ديفيد في إقامات ريفرسايد ، مع أمثال داريو فو وتاركوفسكي وجان بابتيست تيير وفيكتوريا شابلن وجوزيف تشيكين وإيتالو كالفينو وكاثي أكير وصمويل بيكيت. كان Nastasia Filipovna من Wajda من مسرح Stary Theatre و Zbigniew Herbert و Rosewicz من بين نجاحاته البولندية بين عودة Cricot 2 مع أعمال Kantor اللاحقة. تضمنت المعارض مجموعة لودز البنائية وفناني Foksal و Stazewski.

أدى أداء Philip Glass و Sol LeWitt مع Lucinda Childs 'Dance' ، في نهاية المطاف في القرن التالي إلى دعوة من Spoleto و Marina Mahler لتطوير استوديو والدتها ، Anna Mahler في Spoleto ليصبح محفزًا إبداعيًا في علاقة مع استوديو LeWItt التالي باب. تحت قيادة مارينا مالر ، كارول وإيفا ليويت مع جاي روبرتسون ، إقامات الفنانين والأحداث والصداقة الإبداعية مع تلك المدينة. تركز محاضرات ديفيد الحالية في جامعة الفنون في تشيلسي وعلاقته بمعرض تشيلسي للفضاء ، حاليًا على التنسيق. في عام 2016 ، حصل على جائزة نادي تشيلسي للفنون لخدمات التربية الفنية.

تم تحقيق حلم شخصي في ظل إدارته الفنية من خلال جلب دورة تصميم موتلي الأسطورية ولكن غير المدعومة إلى ريفرسايد ، والتي تأسست من خلال الرؤية الراديكالية لرؤى الأداء الرائع في الثلاثينيات. صمم مارسيل بروير في إيسلينجتون مسرحًا رائدًا لميشيل سانت دينيس ، فيما بعد من Julliard ، Komisarjevsky ، سابقًا لمسرح موسكو للفنون ، جورج ديفين ، مؤسس مسرح Royal Court Theatre و Glen Byam Shaw ، مؤسس شركة ستراتفورد شكسبير ، فيما بعد RSC ، مع Motley ، المصممين من Broadway عبر Agnes de Mille إلى هيمنة المسرح البريطاني في رؤيتهم الجديدة الجذرية التي تم التعبير عنها في تأسيس مسرح Royal Court مع مجموعة من المبادئ التي تم احترامها حتى يومنا هذا مع حب الكتابة. وحب بريشت. كان تصميم الأفلام في أفلام الستينيات الكبرى من أراضيهم. كانت خريجة موتلي الأولى جوسلين هربرت التي أدت علاقتها العملية مع صامويل بيكيت إلى إقاماته في ريفرسايد مع شركة سجن سان كوينتين التي أخرجها بيكيت في فيلم Waiting for Godot و Endgame قبل انطلاق العروض إلى مسرح آبي في دبلن. 

كان المكون القوي لهذا التدريب على الأداء هو علاقته الوثيقة مع عمال الإنتاج والمسرح. في ريفرسايد ، كان ذلك يعني كل شيء من الفلسفة العملية ، وكسب الطلاب للمال ، وندوات من قبل أساطير مثل ماتا وداريو فو وإقامات المخرجين مثل سيمون أشر وديفيد ليفو. كانت شراكة إبداعية قوية حتى تدميرها من قبل السياسيين عندما كان مسرح ألميدا تحت قدم لهم بيير أودي المأوى.

اليوم ، ديفيد يحارب من أجل قيامة موتلي مع رئيسها ، بول هاندلي ، مدير الإنتاج في NT. قام Motley بتصميم المزيد من العروض في Broadway و Met أكثر من أي مصمم آخر. جوسلين هربرت ، تحت قيادة جون ديكستر ، حولت دار الأوبرا المتروبوليتان بصريًا.

طلب روبرت بروستين من ديفيد حل فجوة في موسم American Repertory Theatre في كامبريدج ، ماساتشوستس ، والمخرج المقيم ، مع Simon Usher وشريكه في Riverside after Gill ، كان David Leveaux الذي أنتج فيلم "A Moon For the Misbegotten" من ريفرسايد ، فاز بتوني في برودواي حيث يعمل بقوة منذ ذلك الحين. أدت إدارته لمشاريع المسرح في طوكيو إلى شراكة عمل ، ليس أقلها ، تدريب مصمم ياباني في موتلي ، ورشة عمل حول شكسبير وميشيما في اليابان من قبل ديفيد ودعم سخي. أخرج ديفيد إنتاجًا ناجحًا لـ "Bash" لنيل لابوت هناك. 

في ريفرسايد ، أدار برنامج أداء المهرجان لـ Pupul Jayakar في المهرجان الرائد للهند بمناسبة زيارة الدولة للسيدة غاندي ، والتي يتذكرها معظمهم لحفلات الرقص والموسيقى ولكن تحقيق زيارة حبيب تنفير ، مدير مسرح القرية الهندية. 

في عام 1988 ، حصل ديفيد على أول زمالة مسرح كينجمان بروستر للفنون البريطانية الأمريكية ، وقام بعمل كتابات جديدة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، حيث قدم ندوات عن تاركوفسكي والفيلم البريطاني الجديد في جامعة كولومبيا. استقر في استوديو Actors في نيويورك والمسرح الوطني في واشنطن العاصمة. في أواخر الثمانينيات قدم أيضًا باليه فرانكفورت ، ميرو موري المرما وعمل مسرحي لأندريه وجدا لأمريكا في مهرجان بيبسيكو سمرفير في بيرشيس ، شمال نيويورك

عاد إلى لندن لتكليف مخرجين وكتاب لأول مرة بسلسلة من الأفلام القصيرة للقناة الرابعة. ثم واصل تعاونه مع حنيف قريشي كمنتج في لندن تقتلني.

قبل تعيين المساعد الفني في مسرح ليستر هايماركت ، حيث تم الإشادة بعمل جون ديكستر مع جوسلين هربرت من فيلم "Orestes" و Julius Caesar "بإنتاج المملكة المتحدة لفيلم" M.Butterfly "مع أنتوني هوبكنز ومجموعة Eiko Ishioka. كان بيكيت نشيطًا في إنشاء "شريط كراب الأخير" مع ديفيد واريلو وهيربرت ، بإخراج مترجمه وصديقه البولندي أنتوني ليبرا. زارت شركة روستافيلي من جورجيا وتم الاحتفال بأعمال جوزيف تشيكين وجان كلود فون إتالي وسام شيبرد بأعمال كتّاب ليستر ، بمن فيهم جو أورتن.

في أواخر الثمانينيات ، بعد مغادرة ريفرسايد ، عاد ديفيد إلى أوروبا الشرقية. في يوغلوسلافيا ، أخرج فيلم "القلعة" لهورد باركر مع فنان الأداء كاتالين لاديتش ودينيس دوبري. كان لازار ستويانوفيتش وأندراس فورغاش دراماتورج. بعد ذلك ، لمدة خمسة عشر شهرًا ، ترأس ديفيد لجنة دولية معنية بمشاريع مسرحية ضمت شركات رائدة من المجر وألمانيا وإيطاليا ، بما في ذلك تمثيل جميع التجمعات الوطنية في يوغوسلافيا السابقة. خلال الحرب ، عاد لتعليم الممثلين والكتاب والمخرجين في أكاديمية المسرح والسينما السلوفينية وكتب تقريرًا عن مشاركة سلوفينيا المحتملة في البرنامج الثقافي للمجتمع الأوروبي.

في عامي 1998 و 1999 درس كتابة السيناريو لمؤسسة سوروس في ليوبليانا. منتجات قرية، ثم ماكبث إعادة إطلاق المسرح الوطني في كوسوفا ، بدأ بإخراج ديفيد عندما كان رئيس لجنة التحكيم في مهرجان سراييفو في خريف عام 1998. تجول العمل في المدن المنكوبة ثم افتتح أول برنامج فنون المؤتمر العالمي للإيدز في ديربان ، جنوب أفريقيا. ضيوف أمة الزولو والطلاب المسلمين. أخرج أول مسرحية جديدة في كوسوفو باللغتين لكلتا الثقافتين. استمر كمدير لمجلس إدارة مهرجان بريشتينا السينمائي.

في أوائل عام 1999 ، عاد ديفيد إلى بودابست إلى مسرح ميرلين حيث أخرج إنتاجًا تجريبيًا يعتمد على تيد هيوز غراب وعمل يانوس بيلينسكي وشيريل ساتون. سيكون هناك معرض لأعماله في متحف المسرح في بودابست في عام 2018.

تمت دعوة ديفيد بانتظام إلى لجنة تحكيم مهرجان المسرحيين وللتدريس في ورشة عمل الكتاب المسرحيين في جامعة أيوا. هناك ساعد في إنشاء فريق من الكتاب لتشكيل شركة للقيام بجولة في مسرحيات جديدة في منتصف الغرب. إخراج ديفيد هانكوك تابوت الوشم جاء إلى نيويورك. في تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 1998 ، أدار ورشة عمل مسرحية جديدة بعنوان "In the Sweat" لكاتبتين من ولاية أيوا ، نعومي والاس وبروس ماكليود ، لمشروع الشباب في المسرح الوطني. في صيف عام 2003 أخرج مسرحية جديدة لبريان تاتل في كولومبوس بولاية أوهايو وإنتاج في الهواء الطلق لفيلم تشيخوف "النورس" في الحديقة. في عام 2005 أخرج مسرحية ثانية لـ Tuttle في بوسطن. في رونوك ، فيرجينيا في مسرح ميل ماونتن ، أخرج فيلم والاس "The Fever Chart" مع إسماعيل الخالدي في عام 2009.

في عام 2005 ، تم تصوير فيلم "الارتفاع" بجولة في التبت وأجزاء من المناطق الريفية في الصين ، حيث سجل ديفيد كمخرج لأداء شكسبير لجوزيف فينيس مع عازف إيقاع ، مرتجل في الأديرة في جميع أنحاء التبت. أخرج فينيس ورشة الممثلين الأولى عن شكسبير في جامعة لاسا.

في يناير 2007 ، أصبح فنانًا مشاركًا في مسرح آبي ، دبلن ، وأنتج في مسرح كاسر في مونتكلير ، استنادًا إلى فنانين من نيو جيرسي ، ويليام كارلوس ويليامز ، روبرت سميثسون ، جورج سيغال ، ليروي جونز وألين جينسبيرج.

ديفيد هو عضو في لجنة التحكيم لجائزة جورج ديفين للكتابة المسرحية الجديدة وجوائز جان داوسون وكاترين كارليدج للفيلم المستقل.

تضمن عمله الأخير مع أحد خريجيه في الكتابة الإبداعية في ولاية أيوا ، جوشوا كاستيل ، إبداع قدامى المحاربين مما أدى إلى أوبرا جديدة حاليًا في جامعة يورك ، كتبها جيمس كيف. ساعدت أعمال ديفيد الموسيقية السابقة في إحداث انفجار للموسيقى الجديدة من أوائل غافن بريارس ومايكل نيمان ، حيث قدم إلى لندن أمثال لوري أندرسون وجلين برانكا. تلقى فيلم "The Return" لكاستيل قراءة أولية في مركز مسرح مارتن إي سيغال في نيويورك. جولة نسخة كاملة إلى دبلن ، عبر برينستون وشيكاغو ونيويورك ، تضمنت ورش عمل ومؤتمرات مع قدامى المحاربين. إنتاج متجول جديد للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من إنتاج خريج ، Artem Yatsunov ، من Broolkyn.

تضمنت خبرته في العمل في أوروبا مؤخرًا إنتاج قسم من بينالي الرسومات السلوفينية 2016 ، برعاية نيكولا ليس. يواصل ديفيد إنتاج فيلم مستقل. في عام 2017 ، فيلم بعنوان "الرجل المنسي" من إخراج أران شرينج وفاز للتو بجائزة "أفضل فيلم مستقل" في سيدني ، أستراليا. وهو المنتج التنفيذي لـ Mahler Foundationأول لجنة أفلام "منازل ماهلر" ، إخراج ماثيو بورديس.

يقوم بانتظام بتدريس مخرجي الطلاب حول الكتابة في المدرسة الوطنية للسينما وفي بيركبيك في جامعة لندن. وهو محاضر زائر في Peak Performances في جامعة ولاية مونتكلير ، لبرنامج الكتاب الدوليين في جامعة أيوا مع Playwrights Workshop وكلية تشيلسي للفنون والتصميم (MA Curating). 

في السنوات الأخيرة منذ عام 2010 مع مارينا ماهلر وكارول ليويت ، أسس إقامات آنا ماهلر / سول ليويت للفنانين والكتاب والموسيقيين والقيمين في الاستوديوهات السابقة لماهلر وليويت في سبوليتو ، أومبريا.

في عام 2019 ، حصل ديفيد على جائزة CBE من قبل ملكة إنجلترا عن "خدمات المسرح والسينما"

إذا وجدت أي أخطاء ، فيرجى إخطارنا عن طريق تحديد هذا النص والضغط CTRL + أدخل.

تقرير الخطأ الإملائي

سيتم إرسال النص التالي إلى المحررين لدينا:

David Gothard graduated with an MA in Philosophy and African History from Edinburgh University during four years when student drama played an important part. As a British Council post-graduate in Budapest, he directed pioneering and provocative productions of TS Eliot, Beckett and Pinter. He worked at the Royal Court Theatre, London, under the artistic directorship of Lindsay Anderson and William Gaskill.

He joined Riverside Studios in London in 1977 under Peter Gill, during a seminal period: In the opening season were launched a now legendary “The Cherry Orchard” from Peter Gill, Athol Fugard’s work from South Africa, Miro’s first theatre collaboration since Diaghilev and Shuji Terayama’s “Directions to Servants”.

A year earlier in 1976 David had already used Riverside for Tadeusz Kantor’s The Dead Class which had provoked a sensation in the history of the Edinburgh Festival with its television coverage setting the precedent for international work ,not confined to one art form,setting a style for Riverside being packed with Riverside (the place) events rather than a strict separation of the arts.You went for the place’s energy and surprise as well as the art event. Kantor’s own pop-up exhibition with Boltanski ran parallel to the Whitechapel’s formal exhibition curated under Nicholas Serota.

Amongst the writers developed over the early years were Hanif Kureishi , Tunde Ikoli .Stephen Poliakoff, David Drane and Steven Lowe. They and others showcased work through short-term repertory festivals of new work including the Plays Umbrella structure,  which included Mustapha Matura, Edgar White, Peter Gill and Nicholas Wright. Directors launching their careers, often through informal performances, included Simon Usher, David Leveaux, Tina Packer, Stephen Daldry and Simon McBurney with a pioneering Complicite event.

American writers successfully introduced to Britain by David included Emily Mann,Naomi Wallace,David Hancock and Joshua Casteel.

The relationship between writing and film played an important part in David’s activities at Riverside, even before its 35mm cinema was built, much of it built on the initiative of Jan Dawson, his film colleague. With a 16mm screen suspended from the roof of one of the studios, Bill Forsyth, Peter Greenaway, Lazar Stoianovic, Rebecca O’Brien and Andrew Eaton all developed the roots of their careers. In 1985, Andrei Tarkovsky found a home base there for the build-up for “The Sacrifice.” He ran a working committee for Tarkovsky as they both developed the possibility of “Hamlet ” as a film. Hanif Kureishi had worked in David’s office and their package containing the script of “My Beautiful Laundrette” propelled Stephen Frears and Tim Bevan into a shake-up of the British film scene with the founding of Bevan’s  Working Title company.

The Riverside gallery was uniquely nominated for the Turner Prize in 1984. Under David’s directorship at Riverside residencies flourished, with the likes of Dario Fo, Tarkovsky, Jean-Baptiste Thierre and Victoria Chaplin, Joseph Chaikin, Italo Calvino, Kathy Acker and Samuel Beckett. Wajda’s Nastasia Filipovna from the Stary Theatre, Zbigniew Herbert and Rosewicz were among its Polish successes between returns of Cricot 2 with the later work of Kantor. Exhibitions included the Lodz Constructivist collection, Foksal artists and Stazewski.

Philip Glass and Sol LeWitt’s performance with Lucinda Childs ‘Dance’, led eventually in the next century to an invitation from Spoleto  and Marina Mahler to  the  development of her mother,Anna Mahler’s studio in Spoleto becoming a creative catalyst  in a relationship  with  LeWItt’s studio next door.  Under Marina Mahler, Carol  and Eva LeWitt with Guy Robertson, artists residencies, events and a creative friendship with that city. David’s current lectures at the Universty of the Arts in Chelsea and his relationship  with the Chelsea Space gallery ,currently focus on curating. In 2016 he was awarded the Chelsea Arts Club Award for servics to Art Education.

A personal dream had been achieved under his  artistic directorship with the bringing into Riverside of the  legendary but unsubsidised Motley Design Course,founded by radical vision of great performance visionaries in the thirties. Marcel Breuer designed in Islington a pioneer theatre for Michel St Denis ,later of the Julliard, Komisarjevsky,formerly of the Moscow Arts Theatre,George Devine,founder of the Royal Court Theatre and Glen Byam Shaw,founder of the Stratford Shakespeare Company,later the RSC ,with Motley,designers from Broadway through Agnes de Mille to a domination of British Theatre in their radical new vision expressed in the founding of the Royal Court Theatre with a set of principles respected to this day with  love for writing. and a love for Brecht. Film design in the great sixties films were their territory . Motley’s first graduate was Jocelyn Herbert whose working relationship with Samuel Beckett led to his residencies at Riverside with the San Quentin Prison Company directed by Beckett in ‘Waiting for Godot’ and ‘Endgame’ before the shows went off to the Abbey Theatre ,Dublin. 

The powerful ingredient of this training for performance was its close relationship with production and stage workers. At Riverside it meant all from practical philosophy,students earning money,seminars by legends like Matta and Dario Fo and the residencies of directors like Simon Usher and David Leveaux.It was a solid creative partnership through to its destruction by politicians when  the Almeida Theatre under Pierre Audi gave them shelter.

Today, David fights for the resurrection of Motley with its chairman, Paul Handley, production director of the NT. Motley designed more shows on Broadway and the Met than any other designer. Jocelyn Herbert,under John Dexter visually  transformed the Metropolitan Opera House.

David was asked by Robert Brustein to solve a gap in the American Repertory Theatre season in Cambridge, MA, and the resident director,with Simon Usher  and Associate at Riverside after Gill,was David Leveaux whose production of “A Moon For the Misbegotten” from Riverside ,won Tonys on Broadway where he has been working strongly ever since. His directorship of Theatre Projects,Tokyo led to a working partnership ,not least ,Japanese, designer training at Motley, workshop on Shakespeare and Mishima in Japan by David and generous support. David directed a succesful production of Neil Labute’s “Bash” there. 

At Riverside he directed the Festival performance programme for Pupul Jayakar for the pioneer Festival of India marking Mrs Gandhi’s state visit,most remembered for its recitals by gurus of dance and music but achieving the visit of Habib Tanvir, ever remembered director of Indian Village Theatre . 

In 1988 David was awarded the first Kingman Brewster Theatre Fellowship of the British American Arts and workshopped new writing in the USA, giving seminars on Tarkovsky and new British film at Columbia University. He was based at the Actors Studio in New York and at the National Theatre in Washington DC. In the late eighties he also introduced the Frankfurt Ballet, Miro’s Mori el Merma and the theatre work of Andrzej Wajda to America at the Pepsico Summerfare festival at Purchase, upstate New York.

He returned to London to commission first-time directors and writers for a series of shorts for Channel 4. He then continued his working association with Hanif Kureishi as a producer on London Kills Me.

He accepted the Artistic Associate’s appointment at the Leicester Haymarket Theatre,where John Dexter’s work with Jocelyn Herbert of “Orestes” and Julius Caesar” were acclaimed with the UK production of “M.Butterfly” with Anthony Hopkins and a set by Eiko Ishioka. Beckett was active in creating “Krapp’s Last Tape “with David Warrilow and Herbert,directed by his Polish translator and friend,Antoni Libera. The Rustaveli Company from Georgia visited and the work of Joseph Chaikin ,Jean-Claude von Itallie  and Sam Shepard were celebrated  with the work of Leicester writers,including Joe Orton.

In the late eighties, after leaving Riverside, David returned to Eastern Europe. In Yugloslavia he directed Howard Barker’s “The Castle” with the performance artist Katalin Ladic and Denes Dobrei. Lazar Stoianovic and Andras Forgac were dramaturg. Then, for fifteen months, David chaired an international committee on theatre projects involving leading companies from Hungary, Germany and Italy, including the representation of all the national groupings within the former-Yugoslavia. During the war he returned to teach actors, writers and directors at the Slovenian Theatre and Film Academy and wrote a report on Slovenia’s potential participation in the cultural programme of the European Community.

In 1998 and 1999 he taught screenplay writing for the Soros Foundation in Ljubljana. Productions of Hamlet, then Macbeth re-launching the National Theatre of Kosova, were initiated with David directing while he was president of the jury at the Sarajevo Festival in autumn 1998. The work toured stricken cities and then opened the first World Aids Conference arts programme in Durban ,South Africa as guests of the Zulu nation and Moslem students. He directed the first new play in Kosovo in both languages to both cultures. He contiues as a board director of the Prishtina Film Festival.

Early in 1999, David returned to Budapest to the Merlin Theatre where he directed an experimental production based on Ted Hughes’ Crow and the work of Janos Pilinsky and Sheryl Sutton. There will be an exhibition of his work at the Theatre Museum in Budapest in 2018.

David has regularly been invited on to the jury of the Playwrights’ Festival and to teach at the Playwrights’ Workshop at the University of Iowa. There he helped initiate a team of writers to form a company for touring new plays in the mid-west. His own directing of David Hancock’s Ark Tattoo came to New York. In November, 1998, he directed a workshop of a new play, “In the Sweat”, by two Iowa writers, Naomi Wallace and Bruce McLeod, for a youth project at the National Theatre. In the summer of 2003 he directed a new play by Brian Tuttle in Columbus, Ohio and an open air production of Chekhov’s “The Seagull” in the park. In 2005 he directed a second Tuttle play in Boston. In Roanoke,Virginia at Mill Mountain Theatre, he directed Wallace’s “The Fever Chart” with Ismail Khalidi in 2009.

In 2005,a film “Altitude” was made touring Tibet and parts of rural China,recording David as director of a Shakespeare performance by Joseph Fiennes with a percussionist,improvised in monasteries throughout Tibet.Fiennes and he directed the first actors workshop on Shakespeare in the University of Lhasa.

In January 2007, he became Associate Artist at the Abbey Theatre, Dublin, and made a production at the Kasser Theatre in Montclair, based on New Jersey artists, William Carlos Williams, Robert Smithson, George Segal, Leroi Jones and Allen Ginsberg.

David is a member of the judging committee for the George Devine Award for new playwriting and the Jan Dawson and Katrin Carlidge’s awards for independent film.

His recent work with one of his graduates in creative writing in Iowa, Joshua Casteel, involved the creativity of war veterans leading to a new opera currently at the University of York, written by James Cave. David’s earlier music work helped produce the explosion for New Music from early Gavin Bryars and Michael Nyman, introducing the likes of Laurie Anderson and Glenn Branca to London. Casteel’s “The Return” received an initial reading at the Martin E. Segal Theatre Centre in New York. A full version toured to Dublin, via Princeton,Chicago and New York, involving workshops and conferences with veterans. A new touring production for the USA produced by a graduate, Artem Yatsunov,from Broolkyn.

His experience working in Europe recently included producing a section of the Slovenian Graphics Biennale 2016, curated by Nicola Lees. David continues to produce Independent film; in 2017 a film titled “Forgotten Man” directed by Arran Shearing which has just won “Best Independent Film” in Sydney, Australia. He is Executive Producer of the Mahler Foundation’s first film commission “Houses of Mahler”, directed by Matthew Burdis.

He regularly teaches student directors on writing at the National Film School and at Birkbeck in the University of London. He is a guest lecturer at Peak Performances at Montclair State University, for the International Writers Programme at the University of Iowa with the Playwrights Workshop, and Chelsea College of Art and Design (MA Curating). 

In recent years since 2010 with Marina Mahler and Carol LeWitt, he founded the Anna Mahler/Sol LeWitt residencies for artists, writers, musicians, and curators in the former studios of Mahler and LeWitt in Spoleto, Umbria.

In 2019 David was made a CBE by the Queen of England for “Services to theatre and film”

If you have found any errors, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: