أوسكار الثاني هامرشتاين (1895-1960).

  • المهنة: مخرج مسرحيات موسيقية.
  • مساكن: نيويورك. 
  • علاقته بمالر: 
  • المراسلات مع ماهلر: 
  • تاريخ الميلاد: 12-07-1895 نيويورك ، أمريكا.
  • مات: 23-08-1960 Doylestown، Pennsylvania، America.
  • دفن: مقبرة فيرنكليف ، هارتسديل ، نيويورك ، أمريكا. محترق.

كان أوسكار غريلي كليندينينج هامرشتاين الثاني كاتبًا لقصص النصوص الأمريكية ، ومنتجًا مسرحيًا ، ومديرًا مسرحيًا (غير معتمد عادة) للمسرحيات الموسيقية لمدة أربعين عامًا تقريبًا. فاز هامرشتاين بثماني جوائز توني وجائزتي أوسكار لأفضل أغنية أصلية. العديد من أغانيه هي ذخيرة قياسية للمطربين وموسيقيي الجاز. شارك في كتابة 850 أغنية. كان هامرشتاين شاعر غنائي وكاتب مسرحي في شراكاته. كتب المتعاونون معه الموسيقى. تعاون هامرشتاين مع الملحنين جيروم كيرن وفينسنت يومانز ورودولف فريمل وريتشارد أيه ويتينغ وسيجموند رومبيرج. لكن أشهر تعاونه ، حتى الآن ، كان مع ريتشارد رودجرز ، والذي تضمن The Sound of Music.

وُلد أوسكار غريلي كليندينينج هامرشتاين الثاني في مدينة نيويورك ، وهو ابن أليس (ني نيمو) وويليام هامرشتاين. كان جده صانع مسرح ألماني المولد أوسكار هامرشتاين (1846-1919). كان والده من عائلة يهودية ، وكانت والدته ابنة أبوين اسكتلنديين وإنجليز. نشأ الأسقفية.

على الرغم من أن والد هامرشتاين أدار مسرح فيكتوريا لوالده وكان منتجًا لعروض الفودفيل ، إلا أنه كان يعارض رغبة ابنه في المشاركة في الفنون. التحق هامرشتاين بجامعة كولومبيا (1912-1916) ودرس في كلية الحقوق بجامعة كولومبيا حتى عام 1917. كطالب ، حافظ على درجات عالية وشارك في العديد من الأنشطة اللامنهجية ، بما في ذلك لعب القاعدة الأولى في فريق البيسبول ، وأصبح عضوًا نشطًا في Pi Lambda فاي ، وهي أخوية يهودية في الغالب.

عندما كان في التاسعة عشرة من عمره ، وكان لا يزال طالبًا في جامعة كولومبيا ، توفي والده بسبب مرض برايت في 19 يونيو 10 ، والتي نسب الأطباء أعراضها في الأصل إلى الحمى القرمزية. في رحلة القطار إلى الجنازة مع شقيقه ، قرأ عناوين الصحف في نيويورك هيرالد: "موت هامرشتاين صدمة لدائرة المسرح". كتبت صحيفة نيويورك تايمز ، "هامرشتاين ، بارنوم فودفيل ، ميت في الأربعين." عندما وصل هو وشقيقه إلى المنزل ، حضروا جنازة والدهم مع جدهم ، وأكثر من ألف آخرين ، في معبد إسرائيل في هارلم ، وشاركوا في الاحتفالات التي أقيمت في التقليد اليهودي. بعد ساعتين ، "تم دق نقرات فوق برودواي" ، كما كتب كاتب السيرة الذاتية هيو فوردن.

بعد وفاة والده ، شارك في أول مسرحية له مع Varsity Show ، بعنوان On Your Way. طوال بقية مسيرته الجامعية ، كتب هامرشتاين وأدّى في العديد من عروض اسكواش.

إذا وجدت أي أخطاء ، فيرجى إخطارنا عن طريق تحديد هذا النص والضغط CTRL + أدخل.

تقرير الخطأ الإملائي

سيتم إرسال النص التالي إلى المحررين لدينا:

Oscar II Hammerstein (1895-1960).

  • Profession: Producer musicals, director.
  • Residences: New York. 
  • Relation to Mahler: 
  • Correspondence with Mahler: 
  • Born: 12-07-1895 New York, America.
  • Died: 23-08-1960 Doylestown, Pennsylvania, America.
  • Buried: Ferncliff Cemetery, Hartsdale, New York, America. Cremated.

Oscar Greeley Clendenning Hammerstein II was an American librettist, theatrical producer, and (usually uncredited) theatre director of musicals for almost forty years. Hammerstein won eight Tony Awards and two Academy Awards for Best Original Song. Many of his songs are standard repertoire for singers and jazz musicians. He co-wrote 850 songs. Hammerstein was the lyricist and playwright in his partnerships; his collaborators wrote the music. Hammerstein collaborated with composers Jerome Kern, Vincent Youmans, Rudolf Friml, Richard A. Whiting and Sigmund Romberg; but his most famous collaboration, by far, was with Richard Rodgers, which included The Sound of Music.

Oscar Greeley Clendenning Hammerstein II was born in New York City, the son of Alice (née Nimmo) and William Hammerstein. His grandfather was German-born theatre impresario Oscar I Hammerstein (1846-1919). His father was from a Jewish family, and his mother was the daughter of Scottish and English parents. He was raised Episcopalian.

Although Hammerstein’s father managed the Victoria Theatre for his father and was a producer of vaudeville shows, he was opposed to his son’s desire to participate in the arts. Hammerstein attended Columbia University (1912–1916) and studied at Columbia Law School until 1917. As a student, he maintained high grades and engaged in numerous extracurricular activities, including playing first base on the baseball team, and becoming an active member of Pi Lambda Phi, a mostly Jewish fraternity.

When he was 19, and still a student at Columbia, his father died of Bright’s disease, June 10, 1914, symptoms of which doctors originally attributed to scarlet fever. On the train trip to the funeral with his brother, he read the headlines in the New York Herald: “Hammerstein’s Death a Shock to the Theater Circle.” The New York Times wrote, “Hammerstein, the Barnum of Vaudeville, Dead at Forty.” When he and his brother arrived home, they attended their father’s funeral with their grandfather, and more than a thousand others, at Temple Israel in Harlem, and took part in the ceremonies held in the Jewish tradition. Two hours later, “taps was sounded over Broadway,” writes biographer Hugh Fordin.

After his father’s death, he participated in his first play with the Varsity Show, entitled On Your Way. Throughout the rest of his college career, Hammerstein wrote and performed in several Varsity Shows.

If you have found any errors, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: